Reader Problems Book Tag

I blame Joey at Thoughts and Afterthoughts for this tag, wherein I let you know the secrets to my healthy addiction to reading and the problems that follow therein.

THE QUESTIONS

1) You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

This is where my lists come in handy. Not that that has stopped me from picking books up to read just ’cause. Like those stacks of library books I impulsively borrowed even when I still have Netgalley ARCs I probably should have read by now…

I am trying this whole books-in-a-jar thing, but it will probably wait until after I’ve gotten through my reading lists this year.

2) You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

Depends on how annoyed or bored I am with a book. I rarely send books to a DNF status, though, and there was probably only one or two occasions last year where I put a book down halfway and moved on.

3) The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, yet so far away on your Goodreads Reading Challenge. Do you quit or commit?

WHAT END OF THE YEAR? But, if you must know, I’m NINE books ahead on my Goodreads Reading Challenge! Yay me! (Now whether or not my other reading challenges are doing well is another story…)

4) The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

I don’t. When I purchase series, I buy them all together (knowing that they’re complete), which is safe to say that the covers match. Of course, I’ve bought book series that are still incomplete, but these days it’s more likely the first designs will match the continuations (the Lunar Chronicles and Snow Like Ashes series come to mind).

This is probably why I gave my first copy of Sabriel to a friend as a present, because I went and bought out the entire Abhorsen series again with the new covers *coughsIhaveissuesyescough*

5) Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Most of my rants about overhyped books go to my sister. She doesn’t read as much these days, but she seems amused whenever I get angry over a book everybody seems to love, lol.

6) You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

SUNGLASSES!

In the event that I did not carry my sunglasses, I stop reading and just sit there and stare at people instead.

7) A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find the synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?

Hah, as it so happens, I’m on my re-read of the Abhorsen series right now, because I want to read the latest addition: Clariel. It’s been years since I’ve read the series itself, so I forgot a lot of things happening in the Old Kingdom. It’s mostly skim-reading, though.

8) You do not want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

Believe it or not, I used to have a sign-out notebook for whoever borrowed my books, lol! Nowadays, I normally just tell people I’m very protective of my books, and don’t really lend them out unless I am sure they’ll return it in tact.

9) You’ve picked up and put down five books in the past month. How do you get over your slump?

Somewhere in the back of my mind, I’m pretty sure I’m despairing over the slump. But more than likely I find other things to occupy my time, like video games. And television. And baking. Yeah.

10) There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

Ugh, really. Trying. Hard. NOT. To buy. It does help that Netgalley is letting me read ARCs of books I have contemplated purchasing upon publication. I will actually buy hardcovers or paperbacks of books whose stories intrigue me and have awesome covers (ugh, Red Queen is certainly on my list of things to get SOON).

11) After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

Looooool. Let’s just say I’ve bought books years ago that I still haven’t read.

The Tag-ees

I tag EVERYONE READING THIS. No, seriously, you guys are great sports. Go ahead and let me know about your book reading problems. 😀

5 thoughts on “Reader Problems Book Tag

  1. Ditto borrowing books while I still have netgalley ARCs waiting. I’m accustomed to this weird balancing act of reading both library books and ARCs lol. I probably need to set a temporary library ban on myself so I can tackle the books that I have bought too…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. My sister often threatens to hide all my purchased books every time I go to the library to get more books to read. That’s how horridly distracted I get when I see a copy of books I want!

      Like

    1. My process will probably be something similar. It’d be me picking out paper, getting a copy, and then getting distracted by other shiny books that I want to read immediately. Or, you know, those darn ARCs.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.