Food and Fandom: Fallout series

Gaming-wise, my siblings and I are pretty familiar with what we enjoy playing, and luckily for us, somehow we have found video games that all of us play and loved in some respect. This kind of made it easy when October hit, and both my sister and brother had celebrated a birthday. So, obviously, when I thought about decorating and making their cakes, I thought about video game themes!

f3cake2
The cake itself really is a mixture of Fallout 3 and Fallout: New Vegas. Just the Fallout series in general.

I’d already planned out my sister’s and brother’s cake, respectively (you can find the Bioshock Infinite one here). For my brother, however, I was more than lucky to get my sister on board with the idea of a Fallout cake, a cake inspired by the game series’ Pimp-Boy 3 Billion, with changes, obviously. Being the artistic person she is, she managed to do the decorations while I spent most of my time with the baking of the cake and the crafting of the fondant (with a bit of muscle-work provided by my cousin, hee). I didn’t have the opportunity to help her out with the rest of the fondant work other than rolling it out onto the cake, but as time constraints have it, I had to be away from the house for the rest of the day.

f3cake1
Rolling out the fondant was quite the feat, considering how large it ended up turning. Still, at least it wasn’t as sticky as it had been before!

That said, a few things about red velvet cake and forming fondant over it. Red velvet is crumbly and soft. No, really, it is. It’s probably not the ideal cake to use for decorating, but it really is delicious, and my brother tends to like it. So we made do. To glue and frost the cake to the fondant, we used cream cheese frosting (with leftover sprinkles from my sister’s Funfetti frosting mix).

Anyway, we did end up with a whole lot of leftover red velvet scraps (and by scraps, I mean like…half the cake, lol). So as a solution to this “too much cake” conundrum (though it was more of a logical next step), I went ahead and used the rest of the cream cheese frosting and the cake scraps to make cake pops. You can pretty much find decent recipes of cake pops online, but it pretty much amounted to crumbling the red velvet cake into a bowl, mixing the  cream cheese frosting into the same bowl. Some people use actual cream cheese, but why bother wasting another ingredient when there’s still perfectly good frosting left over? Shape, freeze 20 minutes, shape, “glue” onto the sticks (with tempered chocolate), then voila! I skipped the part where I covered the cake pops with chocolate, ’cause I realize I didn’t HAVE much baking chocolate left over in my pantry. Which is a shame, ’cause I’d wanted to decorate the cake pops like bottle caps in the Fallout: New Vegas game. Sunset Sarsparillas, grarr.

f3cake3

Still. Not too shabby, no? I had planned to throw these in as treats for the trick-or-treaters in the neighborhood (since, yes, I did do them on Halloween), but couldn’t find the proper plastic wrapping to wrap them in. I know, I’m a mess sometimes.

For a more comprehensive process of the cake decorating itself, my sister’s blog pretty much has that down pat: http://vidalandcomics.wordpress.com/2013/11/06/go-big-or-go-pimp-boy/

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.