Of Book Sacrifice Tags and Crazy Weekends

Many thanks to Lauren @ Always Me for this lovely book tag! Lauren was one of my Comment Challenge partners this summer and she is fabulous, so check her blog out!

I’ve been trying to find a proper time to do the book tags I wanted to do, and I figure since I have no TTT this week, I may as well throw this in today.

booksacrifice

1. An Over-Hyped Book

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies’ only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

fault

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – The way I saw the hype a couple years back, this book was supposed to be the most amazing thing ever and would make you cry because omg it speaks to all the precocious YA minds. And feels. Apparently so many feeeeeels. I guess it wasn’t completely my cup of tea.

2. A Sequel

Situation: A torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

thanksfish

So Long and Thanks for All the Fish by Douglas Adams – IMO, the Hitchhiker’s Trilogy should have remained as an actual trilogy, since I adored the first three books. The last two felt like the writing was forced, and Adams had even admitted he was not in a good place when he’d written them, so yeah. Skip the sequels after book 3.

3. A Classic

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

catcherrye

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger – Ugh. God. Must. Resist. Major Ranting. Holden frigging Caulfield was the bane of my high school existence.

4. A Least Favorite Book

Situation: Apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

inkheart

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke – Yeah, uh, this was hard because I don’t really own books I would not regret burning for warmth. If I did have to start somewhere, though, it’d be Inkheart, only because my copy is old already, and I wasn’t really a big fan of the story.

Tags:

This is hard! Um…I’ll go with a newer set:

Emma Kath @ Llady Literary
Leyanis @ Teacups and Reads
Fiona @ The Bookworm Who Lived
Ola @ Ola Reads Books

And, of course, anyone else who’d like to join in the fun!


Baking Vegan

So over the last two weeks, I’ve baked quite a few things that took a bit more thought into it than usual. Since one of my group of friends now includes a vegan, keeping her in mind meant having to work up a vegan recipe for her (to keep her from being left out, etc.). So I learned quite a bit about what vegans can do to still sup like kings.

I may have forgotten to take pictures of my vegan versus non-vegan lemon bars, but the rice krispies trears were easy enough!

Finding the ingredients was the challenge, really, but thankfully my local grocery store carried what scant ingredients I needed. I then styled up the krispies to look like watermelon slices (and maybe went ahead and did blueberry hearts, because I had extra marshmallows). I also did make a regular, non-vegan rice krispies. Honestly, the textures and overall picture might be different from each other, but the taste was lovely either way!

And that’s pretty much today’s post in a nutshell.

5 thoughts on “Of Book Sacrifice Tags and Crazy Weekends

  1. Thanks for the shout out! I haven’t actually read the last two here, but I probably will eventually. Inkheart actually made my TTT…

    Like

  2. I love the idea of book tags, but then I never seem to have time to fit them in. Maybe I’ll make it a resolution/goal for my blog next year to do more of them. Because they do seem like fun! I liked The Fault in our Stars, but agree that it was quite a bit overhyped. I haven’t read Inkheart. I loved Catcher in the Rye.

    Like

  3. I was tagged to do this tag by Lauren as well. I can’t wait to put my post together. Don’t you just hate how hype can ruin a book for you? While some hate hype before they read a book, I kind of hate it afterward. I really enjoyed The Fault in Our Stars, but I look back on it less fondly because of being inundated with its brilliance at every turn.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

