TTT: Spur-of-the-Moment Books

ttt

For more information on Top Ten Tuesday, click here.

Ohhh boy. I do have the tendency to buy books on the spur of the moment. Half the time it’s because they’re on sale in places like Book Outlet or The Strand, and I take one look at it and go “MUST. HAVE. NOW.” The other half is because I just felt like acquiring it. Whether or not I actually LIKE these books is yet to be determined, considering they’re still lying on my shelves unread…

Ten Books I’ve Recently Acquired On A Whim

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski – Because as averse as I am to YA books with ballgown covers, this one actually looked interesting.

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons – Got this hardcover on some super sale at Book Outlet. Had to get it, obviously.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente – No idea why I haven’t read this book yet, to be honest.

Kisses and Curses (anthology) edited by Lauren Burniac – I think I saw Marissa Meyer and Leigh Bardugo and went “squeee”. Should there really be any other reason to buy anthologies?

Airborn by Kenneth Oppel – Because steampunk.

Carniepunk (anthology) – Because awesome cover.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness – Because interesting premise.

Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen – Because Will Scarlet is a girl.

Dangerous Women (anthology) edited by G.R.R. Martin – In retrospect, this is probably the worse impulse-buy I’ve made. I DNFed it after the third (or fourth) story.

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke – Because the author was signing for it and the title was long and interesting.

What are YOURΒ recent impulse buys?

18 thoughts on “TTT: Spur-of-the-Moment Books

  1. A bunch of Michael Crichton books — wanted Jurassic Park and The Lost World and there were 13 books in the lot for almost the price I’d be paying for just those two books … they arrived yesterday …

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha, I do this, too! I’d be all: “oh, look…if I buy this as a set instead of individually…” and then I fall deeper into the rabbit hole when that happens…

      Like

      • Indeed. Down the rabbit hole … just call me Alice? πŸ˜€ And it’s worse, I just finished the book I was reading “The Lost Symbol” and picked up Jurassic Park and started it again …

        Liked by 1 person

    • The curse of the series! I always seem to pick up book ones and for the most part, it takes me forever to get to the sequels even when I did enjoy the first books.

      Like

    • Eep! Yeah I don’t blame you. I often wait for the sales too, though sometimes that doesn’t happen when a book catches my eye and I want it now…

      Like

  2. Haha, I’m also averse to ballgown covers! Seems like it’s a bit of a trend, but I just don’t generally like it.

    And agree that the premise for The Rest of Us Just Live Here is interesting! I ended up not really enjoying the book though. Hope you like it more. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read the Glass Sword and The Rest of Us Just Live Here. Glass Sword was an impulse borrow for me as well. I was not a big fan of it.
    I liked The Rest of Us Just Live Here. It was an interesting twist on fantasy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

