TTT: Must Stop Fangirling

ttt

For more information on Top Ten Tuesday, click here.

As I write this, a part of my inner mind theatre is playing out as follows…

Evil domineering alter ego: “Haha! You can try to quit, but you and I both know it will be trying to quit the unquittable!”

Me: “Yes, but this is getting out of hand! And is unquittable even a word?”

EDAE: “I’ve created it for such a purpose. We all know you’re going to return to your regular haunts, and the more you deny it, the more it will eat away at your soul and you’ll be nothing but a blubbering, pathetic–”

Me: “Alright, I get it.”

EDAE: “I’m glad we’ve come to an understanding.”

Me: “But this list will still be made!”

EDAE: “…”

Top Ten Books I Should Quit Fangirling (But Not Bloody Likely)

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine – Seriously, though, all Cinderella retellings will always be compared to this book. Just ’cause it set the bar up pretty high for me as a kid. It still does, actually.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik – You’d think I’d find a way to shut up about this book. But I cannot keep gushing about it. I am, however, just a little bummed that Novik is showing up at NYC Comic Con on the day that I won’t be there! Ugh.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman – Really, I can gush about anything Neil Gaiman. Neverwhere does hold a speshal significance, and I can say right now that a number of my family’s pet fish have been named after cray-cray Islington.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer – East meets West in a science fiction retelling of a fairy tale. If that doesn’t make me obsess over this, I don’t know what would. This one is a relatively new obsession, and rather short, since I still haven’t read the next books to continue my fangirling. I WILL THOUGH.

Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier – This book was so damn magical. SO DAMN MAGICAL. And it will always remind me of my reading until 5 am and crying over finishing the book.

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson – Yeah. Me not mentioning this at least a few times in a fantasy conversation is impossible. Just accept that I’m a Sanderson convert after having read this book–and the rest of its trilogy.

Graceling by Kristin Cashore – Another fantasy that raises the bar for all other fantasies. Normally I bring this book–and this world–up a lot, especially when I talk about kickass fantasy females.

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder – And this one is just…food and fantasy! Yes! Best combination ever, obviously.

Tortallan series by Tamora Pierce – Also accept the fact that I’m going to gush over any Tortallan book. Mostly Alanna, sometimes Beka, a lot of Kel, and occasionally Daine. But all the time George and Numair.

Discworld series by Terry Pratchett – I started trying to pick a particular book out of the stack of Discworld novels, but in the end, most of my gushing tends to go to recurring characters. Moist is awesome, I have an unhealthy admiration for Vetinari and Sam Vimes, and CMOT Dibbler always gets called into a discussion between my sister and me.

13 thoughts on “TTT: Must Stop Fangirling

  1. *laughs* Is that what I’m doing with all so many of those books is Fangirling? ARG. Matching 10 out of 16 of those listed is not good. EXCEPT omg how could I have missed reading “The Truth”? (scurries to library)(they don’t HAVE IT). ps I love that cover of Graceling. Damn.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Truth was my FIRST Discworld and Pratchett book. So it holds lots of personal feels for me. Plus, it was kind of splendid to see the beginnings of the Ankh Morpork Times.

      Like

  2. This is an awesome list for fantasy fans! I want to high five this list. I love Ella Enchanted, Uprooted and Graceling (I might love Fire SLIGHTLY more than Graceling). While I didn’t love them, I also enjoyed reading Neverwhere, Poison Study and Wildwood Dancing (my favorite Marilliers are Daughter of the Forest and Son of the Shadows). Some other authors I love that I’m wondering if you’ve tried: Megan Whalen Turner, Robin McKinley, Diana Wynne Jones, Philip Pullman and Sherwood Smith?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fire actually is my favorite of the Graceling trilogy, but I tend to fangirl Graceling mostly because of the Graces. I’d love to have one!

      I have not tried Whalen Turner, but I adore McKinley and Wynne Jones. I liked Pullman’s Ruby in the Smoke series much better than Golden Compass, and I’m not sure how to feel about Smith. I tried Inda but couldn’t get into it for some reason. One day I might try Crown Duel just to see if I’ll like that more.

      Like

      • Haha I would love to have a Grace too! I can’t wait for Kristin Cashore to write more books. And I hope the film rights to Graceling or Fire would get optioned.

        I’m going to take this moment to persuade you to try Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief series because it’s amazing. One of my all time favorite series! It’s just so smart and well-written and has a lot of the things that I enjoy in books. It would be fun to hear your thoughts on it if you decide to pick up the books.

        I remember enjoying the Sally Lockhart series when I was younger but I haven’t read it as an adult so I’m not sure how it will hold up. I fell in love with His Dark Materials in college. Hmm my introduction to Sherwood Smith’s writing was Crown Duel and I loved it. I read the Inda series and I thought it was written well, I just didn’t enjoy it as much as her YA books.

        Like

  3. I have had such bad experiences with Gaiman – read 3 or 4 of his books and didn’t like a single one. 😦 Mistborn is awesome, as always, and Discworld is fantastic – I absolutely love Moist too!

    Oh, and you should hurry and catch up on the rest of the books in the Lunar Chronicles… the last book is coming out November 12th! SO EXCITED.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

