Review: Saga by Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples

Well. I did mean to start this series at some point. So when Banned Books Week started rolling in, and I was looking for something new on the ALA List of the frequently challenged, I saw Saga and immediately knew that was what I was going to read this week.

And how the heck does a book get challenged for being “anti-family” anyway?


SAGA

written by Brian K. Vaughn, illustrated by Fiona Staples
Image Comics, 2012
Graphic novel, space opera
Rated: cookieratingcookieratingcookieratingcookieratingcookiehalfrating / 5 cookies

sagaWhen two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

From bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan, Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults.

Gifly Thoughts

Go figure I’d love the first volume and want more, but I can’t continue right now because I was silly enough to ONLY borrow the first volume from the library. And my local library carries up to volume 4. Maybe 5 soon, since it recently did just get released. So here I am loving this series and short of buying it (which I really, really shouldn’t right now, me being on a budget and saving up for something else), I’m just going to have to wait to get the next installations once I’ve finished the other library books I’ve, erm…been hoarding.

Saga is a space opera revolving around an interspecies marriage between two sides that are currently rending the galaxy apart with some pointless war. Marko–a soldier-turned pacifist–and his wife, Alana, are being hunted both for desertion of their respective sides. Running away from bounty hunters is one thing, but doing so while caring for a newly-born infant and trying to keep a marriage together is quite a feat. In fact, I’m wondering how on earth Alana and Marko are managing.

IMG_20150928_223237

Can I say how much I love soldier-turned-pacifist Marko? Actually, you know what, Hazel has awesome parents. Alana’s just as badass as a mother, and she’s hilarious. The interaction between Marko and Alana kind of reminds me of John and Aeryn from Farscape. Because, you know, John kind of was the guy who tried not to hurt people, and Aeryn has absolutely no frellin’ problem shooting a gun at something that threatens her. With a baby, both sets of parents will certainly stop at nothing to rear their children in a peaceful world. Now that. That is swoonworthy and bucketloads of AWESOME.

Just…sigh.

Granted, I don’t think I can picture Aeryn having as voracious an appetite for smutty literature as Alana does. But you never know.

The narration of the story is by Hazel, Alana and Marko’s mixed-breed daughter, so I’m assuming this is a story that Hazel recalls years and years after she’s already grown and gotten old. Which means there’s at least one person alive at the end of this story (very promising, I tell ya!). The series, however, does not nearly tell only the parents’ perspectives; there are several other POVs that make this space story a “saga” indeed.

I couldn’t even dismiss the other POVs. The Will seems to have an interesting journey ahead of him. As a bounty hunter, he’s charged to find and exterminate Marko and Alana. For payment, he’s given a silver card that should cover his expenses across the galaxy. And what does this bugger go and do first? GO TO A WHOREPLANET.

IMG_20150928_220638

I can’t. I just…I lost it there.

Anyway. This volume had scifi. This volume had fantasy. This volume had awesome funny gems. And ghost characters that I loved. And just characters that are intriguing. I want more. MORE I TELL YOU.

4.5 out of 5 cookies!

3 thoughts on “Review: Saga by Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples

  1. I’m currently reading volume 4 and cannot get enough of it! The series came into my life when volume 1 appeared in mailbox. A friend who had recently moved away had read it and decided I had to, as well. What a great day that was! Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Review: Saga, Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples | Story and Somnomancy

Leave a Reply

