Of Secret Santas and Shelf Stacks

There are many things to get excited over the holidays (one of which is me being on vacation!), and certainly a bookish highlight would be the package I got from my The Broke and the Bookish Secret Santa, Shannan (with an A, yes XD). You can totally follow her here. She’s awesome, yeah.

Anyway, onward to the goods!

christmas1

First off: the yarn and knitting stuffs. Ohmahgoh such prettiness! Over last weekend, I’d already used the multicolored yarn to knit one of my mother’s choir friends a set of fingerless gloves. It was so pretty that I intend to make one for myself, but with a different knit/purl pattern. And so many new needles! Will have to learn how to knit in the round, I imagine it might be faster than juggling three to four dpns at the same time, lol.

The magnets and munchies went to my classroom for consumption and play. Already my little voldies are enjoying playing with the magnets on the fridge, so much so that my aide and I had to actually herd them away from the “teachers’ fridge”. I haven’t tried the tea and coffees yet, but those were adorable and I cannot wait to indulge in a cuppa!

And that shot glass! Now sitting in my shot glass cabinet XD.

These things alone would have been awesome, but then, of course, there were the books I hadn’t opened until last night. (Well, I cheated a bit, because I couldn’t wait, so I opened one book a few days ago…)

bookstack2

Squeeeee. Nevermind that now my ever-growing book pile just is now at a whopping two mega-huge stacks in my room. Nevermind that I still have so much to read this year and probably won’t be able to tackle these books until sometime in 2015. The Paper Magician and The Last Dragonslayer were not on my wishlist, but they look so interesting and I LOVE the cover for The Paper Magician.

So again, THANKS SHANNAN!

On a final note, the oven was pretty busy on Christmas Eve, what with the ham baking and then me attempting to make this batch of chocolate dreams. Suffice to say it looks pretty darn good. I haven’t tried the brownies yet, but we’ll see how it goes!

Other than that: Happy Holidays, folks, and may your day be ever-fabulous!

Leave a Reply

