Savor the Savory

I meant to post up a review and maybe an entry into the world of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone…but I haven’t finished the book yet. I do plan on making kolaches, though, so stay tuned for that one! But for now, I did do some baking over at my friend’s apartment the other day that I thought came out relatively well, considering the amount of conversions and food we ended up making in a short period of time.

muffin1

But I suppose one can’t really go wrong with bacon, huh?

I have a perpetual sweet tooth, but there are days where I’m just not feeling the sweets. When my friend suggested we do something savory for muffins and scones instead, I jumped up at the chance and looked for something with cheese. And bacon. And sundried tomatoes. And more cheese.

Needless to say we fell into looking at three (well, four, if you count the scones from the Redwall recipe book): Bacon-Cheddar Cheese Scones, Bacon-Cheddar Muffins, Sun-Dried Tomato, Basil, and Parmesan Muffins. Oh, yeah, bring them on, baby.

A side note: We did change up the Sun-Dried Tomato muffin recipe by adding a block of mozzarella cheese in the middle of each muffin. That said, it might have been a better idea to put the cheese closer to the bottom so there wasn’t any overflow or anything. We also might have forgotten the basil (or the rosemary that we wanted to add in).

Another side note: We also experimented with green onions. While the bacon-cheddar muffins didn’t call for green onions, we put some in them anyway. Tasted yummy either way.

Verdict: The scones I liked well enough, but my heart went to the bacon-cheddar muffins. So rich with flavor and moist and salivating-rich of bacon-cheese-ness. That said, the sun-dried tomato muffins did suffer a little bit from lack of basil or herbs (we really did forget to put the rosemary in!), but having that mozzarella cheese middle made it absolutely delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

